Brock Bond (on way to Fresno Grizzlies?) wins Harry S. Jordan Award in Giants camp

Brock Bond wins the Harry S. Jordan Award given to the best player in his first major-league camp. (Associated Press photo)

Brock Bond likely won’t make the San Francisco Giants’ opening day roster, but the 27-year-old infielder was recognized for his effort Tuesday.

Bond is this year’s winner of  the Harry S. Jordan Award, given annually during spring training to the player who makes the biggest impression during his first major-league camp. The award is voted by Giants players, coaches and training staff.

During six minor-league seasons, the last three with the Fresno Grizzlies, Bond owns a career batting average of .313 with a .410 on-base percentage. This spring, he hit .435 (10 for 23) with two home runs in 13 Cactus League games.

Bond was reassigned to Triple-A Fresno on March 14, so there’s a good chance he opens the season in a Grizzlies uniform. He hit .332 with a .412 on-base percentage here last season.

In other notes:

*** Last year’s Jordan Award winner, reliever Dan Otero, was claimed off waivers by the New York Yankees. So he won’t be back. But it looks like starter Yusmeiro Petit will be. Petit cleared waives and the Giants reassigned him to Triple-A Fresno.

*** Nick Noonan continues to make his case for one of the backup infield spots. The 23-year-old shortstop hit two doubles in Monday night’s Cactus League game and made a couple fine defensive plays.

*** I’m projecting a little here, but the Grizzlies have the makings of a darned good outfield with Gary Brown, Roger Kieschnick, Francisco Peguero and Juan Perez. Of course, it’s still possible Peguero makes the big-league club. He’s battling veteran Cole Gillespie for the fifth-outfielder job.

*** As a reminder, the Grizzlies’ season opener is April 4 — that’s next Thursday night  – at Chukchansi Park against the Tacoma Rainiers. Media day will be April 3.

*** Just for fun, here’s the entire list of Jordan Award winners. Lots of familiar names in there for your amusement.

1988    Joe Kmak  &                           2001    Pedro Feliz

Francisco Melendez                         2002    Felix Escalona

1989    James Steel                            2003    Jason Ellison

1990    Eric Gunderson                    2004    Brian Dallimore

1991    Mark Leonard                        2005    Scott Munter

1992    John Patterson                     2006    Derin McMains

1993    Greg Brummett                     2007    Tim Lincecum

1994    J.R. Phillips                            2008    Brian Bocock

1995    Joe Rosselli                            2009    Joe Martinez

1996    Marvin Benard                      2010    Darren Ford

1997    Dante Powell                          2011    Brandon Belt

1998    Russ Ortiz                               2012    Dan Otero

1999    Damon Minor                        2013    Brock Bond

2000  Ben Weber