Fresno State claims all three player of year awards in Mountain West Conference

Fresno State quarterback Derek Carr was selected as the Mountain West Conference offensive player of the year, strong safety Phillip Thomas as the defensive player of the year and Davante Adams as freshman of the year, the first time in history that one school has swept all three awards.

Carr led the league in completions, completion percentage, passing yards and passing touchdowns and is the first Bulldogs’ player to be   a offensive player of the year since his brother, David, was the Western Athletic Conference award in 2001.

Thomas, who led the MWC with eight interceptions and returned three for touchdowns, is the 10th player from Fresno State to be selected as a defensive player of the year, the most recent Chris Carter in 2010.

Adams, who led the league in receptions and receiving yards and touchdown receptions, is the third freshman from Fresno State to win the award and the first since Ryan Wendell in 2004.

Seven Bulldogs were selected to the conference first team in a vote of coaches and media that covers the league – Carr, Thomas, Adams, running back Robbie Rouse, offensive tackle Austin Wentworth, nose guard Tyeler Davison and safety Derron Smith.

Mike linebacker Travis Brown and defensive end Andy Jennings are on the second team, while cornerbacks Sean Alston and L.J. Jones, receiver Isaiah Burse, center Richard Helepiko, tight end Marcel Jensen and punter Andrew Shapiro gained honorable mention.